Top 4 Batting Records in IPL Playoffs over the years

IPL 2018 has finally arrived at playoff stage. The first qualifier played between Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad, two of the top teams in the league, at Wankhede Stadium. Total 21 matches have been at playoff so far. Out of these matches, several brilliant performances have come out with the bat which has surprised the crowd. Without wasting any time further, here are some of the top batting performances in playoffs.

  1. Brad Hodge (2013, vs. SRH)

In the 2013 eliminator, Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad were playing at Delhi. Sunrisers won the toss and chose to bat first. Royals’ bowling limited them to only 132/7. Rajasthan Royals started well with captain Rahul Dravid who scored three boundaries early on. But by the end of second over, he was out.

Ajinkya Rahane and Shane Watson batted well and Royals were in good position as they scored 50 for the loss of 1 wicket. But dismissal of Watson brought collapse in batting of RR as they were 57/5. Brad Hodge and Sanju Samson were at crease at this stage.

  1. Murali Vijay (2012, vs. Delhi Daredevils)

In second qualifier of IPL, Delhi Daredevils were table-toppers who played against CSK in Chennai. Daredevils won the toss and chose to bowl first. Murali Vijay was the opener along with Michael Hussey. Murali Vijay was not in good form as he scored only 181 off 12 matches.

Vijay started with two boundaries in first two balls. He smashed the bowlers of DD across the ground. The 2-time defenders were in great position. Vijay reached his century in IPL and 6th of the league. He scored 113 off 58 balls and was dismissed in last ball of innings and innings of CSK finished at 222/5. On the other side, DD scored only 136.

  1. Virender Sehwag (2014, vs. CSK)

It was another qualifier of IPL 2014 when CSK were up against KXIP at Mumbai to reach the final against KKR at Bangalore. CSK won the toss and chose to field first. KXIP was off to decent start as Manan Vohra’s occasional hitting and Virender Sehwag’s aggressive batting action bashed CSK’s bowlers.

Viru kept on to smash CSK bowlers and scored 122 off only 58 balls and dismissed by Ashish Nehra. It was the highest IPL score for Sehwag. Innings for Punjab was finished at 226/6. CSK lost the match by 24 runs and KXIP won their first final ever.

  1. AB de Villiers (2016, vs. Gujarat Lions)

It was the first qualifier at M Chinaswamy Stadium in Bangalore and RCB was playing against Gujarat Lions, which was a new franchise. Virat Kohli won the toss and chose to field first. Gujarat lost Aaron Finch, skipper Suresh Raina and Brendon McCullum quickly and were 9/3. But Dwayne Smith (73-off-41) took Lions to 158 in 20 overs.

RCB had very terrible start with 29/5 due to Dhawal Kulkarni who dismissed Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle. AB de Villiers and Stuart Binny played the partnership of 39 runs before Binny was out. De Villiers was batting well and Iqbal Abdullah joined him and played some good shots.

Please follow and like us: