Sri Lanka to launch their official Premier League later this year

T20 leagues have been enjoying significant success across the world. With the great success of Indian Premier League (IPL), other countries are also trying to launch their official T20 leagues.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) is the latest in a row of premier leagues. The Sri Lankan Board is all set to launch their own T20 league this year. With the beginning of IPL a decade ago, it grabbed a lot of attention over the world. With the success of IPL, several other leagues have started ever since. The likes of Bangladesh Premier League, Big Bash League, Pakistan Super League and Caribbean Premier League all have tasted great success after the Indian Premier League.

Sri Lanka Premier League ended prematurely
Many cricket fans don’t know that Sri Lanka was one of first countries to have the plan of developing their own league. Around half a decade ago, Sri Lankan Premier League had been announced by the Sri Lanka cricket. It became famous for Rilee Rossouw’s serious injury. But the event failed to grab a lot of attention which disappointed both the organizers and fans.

The matches were started with very low crowds and turnouts were not that great for the big games. In addition, most of the players didn’t play in the league. It definitely lost the charm the league produced earlier. In addition, the corrupt system and match fixing led the tournament to premature end.

After around 6 years, Sri Lanka is going to have T20 league. The SLC has reportedly released official press which confirmed the update. It is also revealed that the new league will be called “Lankan Premier League (LPL)”. The tournament is scheduled to be played in August and September this year. The board is all set to have six teams in fixtures and each team will play first 10 round matches. Each team will play two matches with other team.

The tournament will be named as LPL and it is scheduled to be played from August 18 to September 10, 2018, according to Mr. Ashley De Silva, CEO of Sri Lanka Cricket.

New LPL to Clash with T20 Blast and CPL
Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the dates for Lankan Premier League T20 tournament but there is limited ability to grab the attention of foreign talent because of the clashes with England’s T20 Blast and Caribbean Premier League.

The CPL is scheduled to be played between August 8 to September 16 while LPL will run from August 18 to September 10 and domestic English season is going throughout. There are six teams in LPL in the initial edition.

Please follow and like us: