Champion Super Kings – Shane Watson leads CSK to Third IPL Trophy

After serving 2 years of ban, Chennai Super Kings is back and left everyone behind like a boss. The IPL 2018 final was a nail-biting and super exciting match between CSK and Sunrisers Hyderabad. SRH scored 178 runs by batting first which was not that easy to chase. But it was against CSK, the team which had already won last three matches against SRH.

On the other side, Yusuf Pathan was an unsung hero in SRH by scoring 45 runs off 25 balls, which were not bad as it took SRH to 178 runs.

On the other side, the beginning for CSK was too slow as the first over for them was maiden. They scored only 20 runs in first 5 overs. But it was Shane Watson who scored 100 off only 51 balls and emerged as a hero of the team once again. Dhoni didn’t even need to bat as he scored 117 runs and helped the team to chase the target effortlessly. It was the third time CSK got the IPL trophy.

Previously, CSK won the IPL trophy against Mumbai Indians in 2010 and against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011. It was the perfect comeback in 2018 as CSK won their third IPL title by thumping 8 wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Earlier, SRH skipper Kane Williamson (47) missed out his 9th half-century in IPL 2018 and Yusuf Pathan lifted the total to 178/6 with his 45 not-out.

It was 36 years old Shane Watson who smartly chased the score by hitting 8 sixes and 11 fours while sending the balls of Rashid Khan (0-24) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0-17) outside the boundaries.

With the partnership of Suresh Raina (32), Shane Watson scored 117 runs in total and took the trophy far away from Hyderabad. After being set in his maiden opening spell at crease, Watson fought back against Sidharth Kaul (0-43) and Sandeep Sharma (1-52) with his deft cuts and pull shots.

Watson said, “Things gone very nice tonight but it’s very special for me to do it in such a huge game. After first 10 balls, I was thinking to catch up. But it got easier once ball was not swinging.”

Watson reached his 50 off only 33 balls with 6-over midwicket off Shakib Al Hasan, a left-handed spinner. Later, 13th over was proved very expensive for SRH as he smashed three consistent sixes and two fours against Sandeep, which went by giving CSK 27 runs, and Williamson was clueless on how to control the flow of runs.

Shane Watson smashed his another IPL century in IPL 2018 off 51 balls with 1 run at cover off last over of Rashid before smashing Afghan leg spinner for two back-to-back fours. Innings of Hyderabad lost its momentum once Ravindra Jadeja clean bowled Shikhar Dhawan (26) in 9th over with 64 runs in total.

In addition, New Zealand’s Kane Williamson scored more than 700 runs in an IPL season and became fifth batsman in the history of league. But he was stumped by Dhoni in 13th over and outfoxed by leg spinner Karn Sharma.

Please follow and like us: