5 Most Underrated Players who have won IPL several times

Since the very beginning of IPL in 2008, several brilliant players have come and gone. Most of them had opportunity to try their hands on epic trophy but many lacked the opportunity for it. But there are still some unknown players who have begged the trophy.

  1. Dwayne Smith – 2009, 2013

Dwayne Smith had 8 appearances during IPL 2009 for Deccan Chargers and got 215 runs at whopping strike rate of 162.87. He was ranked 5th highest run getter in DC and also won the Man of the Match as he led the team to win by 53 runs against Rajasthan Royals played at Kimberley.

In 2012, Smith joined Mumbai Indians and played for them for 2013 tournament. He was among the top players as he scored 418 runs with average of 32.15. For two times, he was Man of the Match against Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders.

  1. Manvinder Bisla – 2009, 2012, 2014

He has won the IPL three times. His played for IPL for the first time with Deccan Chargers. He played for the team and won in 2009 but he didn’t play any game. His second win came in 2012 with Kolkata Knight Riders where he was the hero in the final and he scored 89 off 48 deliveries. He was also on the team which won in 2014. He played once against RR in Abu Dhabi where he took only 3 runs and they lost the match in Super Over.

  1. Ben Hilfenhaus – 2011, 2015

Chennai Super Kings invested $100,000 on him in IPL auction 2011. He couldn’t play even a match for them as they defeated RCB by 58 runs in final. Till 2014, he played for Chennai Super Kings and got 22 wickets, including 8 in 2014 and 14 in 2012. In IPL 2015, Mumbai Indians signed him as a replacement for Hazlewood. MI won the tournament against Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the final.

  1. Aiden Blizzard – 2013, 2015

He played a couple of matches in 2011 for Mumbai Indians. He scored 120 runs, which consist of 51 off 31 balls against KKR in the eliminator. He was also featured in IPL 2012 and played one match only against DD. After 2012, he didn’t play even a single game but he was with Mumbai till 2015. He was there for the squad which defeated CSK by 23 runs and won their maiden title in IPL. But he didn’t play any game. He was also in the team which won in 2015 but without playing any single game.

  1. Abhimanyu Mithun – 2015, 2016

His career was not that memorable as he had only 7 wickets. Many people know that Mithun played a few seasons for RCB, along with best season to date, i.e. when they made it to the final in 2011. The pacer also played in two campaigns which won the IPL. In IPL auction, he was bought by MI for 30 Lakh INR only in 2015. He never played any match for IPL. But he won the title against CSK in final. Sunrisers also bought him for 30 Lakh INR next year. He sat in the dugout for the whole tournament as they became champions.

Please follow and like us: