5 Masterstrokes in the history of IPL that Shook the Nation

It goes without saying the Indian Premier League is the most anticipated T20 league in the world. Thanks to the popularity it has achieved, the league has led mega sports event turn into an international brand. It has lived up to its commitment to provide pure entertainment in every successive season.

Well, the league has brought many surprises in decision making which may defy the logic behind the game but have definitely been ideal for teams. Here are those masterstrokes which have been taken in the epic ten years of the history of IPL.

  1. Dhoni’s trap against Pollard in 2010 Final

This event took place at DY Patil Stadium in 2010 final when ‘Captain Cool’ took an innate decision against Mumbai Indian’s Kieron Pollard in the last over. Mumbai needed 27 runs while only 7 balls left and Pollard was the only hope for MI to reach the title.  Bowlers were being troubled by his attacks before Dhoni has created a well-thought plan.

He put a straight mid-off just behind the arm of the bowler. This trap was well set by him and Pollard got caught by the same fielder on next ball to strike the delivery which was pitched well off stump.

  1. Gayle signed with RCB in 2011 Season

In his very inaugural game in fourth season of IPL, Chris Gayle came with a bang in Royal Challengers Bangalore as he hit 102 runs off 55 deliveries against his former franchise. It was just the beginning as he led the charts of batting during the whole season. He scored 608 runs in 12 matches and grabbed the orange cap.

  1. Sunil Narine’s top order in 2017 for KKR

His partnership with Chris Lynn became a nightmare for the rivals as the duo came as hammer and tongs in the initial six overs. It was one of the most sought after partnerships at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore against the reds. There was some serious hitting by him as he made his way through to 50 off in only 15 runs.

  1. Gambhir’s attack against Dhoni in 2016

Gautam Gambhir has always been called as an aggressive captain and his will-power to win every match which is evident with his on-field decisions. One of the best examples was when he attacked RPS captain MS Dhoni between Pune and Kolkata in 2016.

Dhoni came into bat when his side was getting weaker at 74-4 following Bailey’s wicket. To choke the flow of runs, Gambhir attacked him in field setting. He increased so much pressure that Dhoni ended up scoring only 8 off 22 balls when rain stopped further batting and it concluded easy win for home team in a match which was shortened to only 9 overs.

  1. Ashwin taking new ball in 2011 Final

It was the final of 2011 edition when all eyes were on Chris Gayle who had been in aggressive form along the tournament. Once again, Dhoni asked Ravichandran Ashwin to start proceedings in the game. By witnessing Gayle’s weakness to play against off-spinner, skipper took this tactical move. Ashwin took a big scalp of Gayle without letting down the skipper. He bowled the opening over to provide a brisk beginning to chase down the mammoth.

Please follow and like us: